• 2021 Hall of Fame Nomination Form

  • *Deadline to nominate is July 30, 2021.

    Base upon the history of our business community, we are strong and resilient.

    Your Chamber would like to honor those individuals who have changed the landscape of our economy and exemplify your Chamber's mission to, "promote and develop a positive environment for the operation and growth of business in Montgomery County."

    These individuals have impacted the economy of Blacksburg, Christiansburg, and all of Montgomery County through their leadership, business success, vision, integrity, generosity, innovation, and civic engagement. These individuals could have been a Distinguished Business Person of the Year, but this is for a lifetime contribution. The Hall of Fame focuses on those in our past; think Alexander Black, founder of National Bank, or those who continue to change our community now and in the future; think Frank Beamer, retired head coach of Virginia Tech Football, or Michael Fleming, CEO and co-founder of Torc Robotics.

    Instructions for Nomination Form:
    We are asking all of our residents and businesses to think about this landscape and how different it might be without__________________ (insert name).

    1. Fill out the Nominee and Nominator section.
    If a line in the "Nominee" section is not applicable, with N/A.

    2. Use the back of this form to tell us why this person should be admitted to the "Wall of Fame".
    *Any business or individual can nominate and/or be nominated. Chamber membership is not a requirement.
    *This award can be received by someone living or posthumously.

    In 2020, we recognized up to 10 individuals. In 2021, we will recognize up to 10 individuals. In 2022 and beyond, we will recognize up to 5 individuals. Previous inductees include:
    Joe Meredith, Ph.D. - Former CEO of the Corporate Research Center
    Debbie Sherman-Lee - Chair of Board of Directors and an Alumni of Christiansburg Institute, Inc.
    Vinod Chacha, Ph.D. - Former Chairman and CEO of VTLS Inc.
    Norman Fitzwater - Franchise Owner of A Cleaner World, Retired and Former Hokie Club President
    Jeanne Stosser - President of SAS Builders and Campus Management Group, CMG
    Frank Beamer - Retired Virginia Tech Football Coach
    Raymond Smoot, Ph.D. - CEO of the Virginia Tech Foundation, Emeritus and Chairman of Atlantic Union Bank, Emeritus
    Janaka Casper - CEO of Community Housing Partners (CHP)
    Tommy McDearis, Dmin - Senior Pastor at Blacksburg Baptist Church

    Nominee Information:
    Nominator Information:
    Nominator Signature
  • Upcoming Events